2015 Talossan Journalism Award Winners!

Ladies and gentlemen, at this time, it’s my pleasure to announce the winners of the 2015 Talossan Journalism Awards.

This year the TPA used a ranked pairs system, allowing our judges to choose names in order of preference, rather than be limited to selecting only one person as a winner for each award.

So without further delay…

Journalist of the Year

The nominees are:

  1. Glüc da Dhi
  2. Sir C. M. Siervicül
  3. Munditenens Tresplet
  4. Dr. Txec dal Nordselva
  5. Sir Alexandreu Davinescu
  6. Riley Miller
  7. C. Carlüs Xheraltescù
  8. Miestra Shiva

With 17% of the vote each, this year the award is a tie!

Congratulations Glüc da Dhi and Sir C. M. Siervicül

Article of the Year

The nominees are:

  1. “Forgotten Words,” by Ian Tamoran (Beric’ht Talossan #24, 8 Mar 2015)
  2. “A History of Catchmenta,” by Sir C. M. Siervicül (Beric’ht Talossan #13, 14 Sep 2014)
  3. “Terror Debate Divisions,” by Travec Dun (Beric’ht Talossan #21, 18 Jan 2015)
  4. “Immigration Analysis,” by Dr. Txec dal Nordselva (Beric’ht Talossan #7, 22 June 2014)
  5. “Miestra Schiva: A Career of Conflict,” by Sir Alexandreu Davinescu (Beric’ht Talossan #4, 27 Apr 2014)
  6. “Prove Your Worth,” by C. Carlüs Xheraltescù (Beric’ht Talossan #7, 22 June 2014)
  7. “Interview with Parents,” by Riley Miller (Beric’ht Auscultaval, Episode 4, 1 Mar 2015)
  8. Edwards/Schiva: The Interview” (ETT, 29 March 2015)

Also a close race, but with 18% of the vote:

Sir C. M. Siervicül’s “A History of Catchmenta” (Beric’ht Talossan #13, 14 Sep 2014)

Saint Maximilian Kolbe Award

The nominees for the lifetime achievement award are:

  1. Glüc da Dhi
  2. Ian Tamoran
  3. Sir C. M. Siervicül
  4. Travec Dun
  5. Dr. Txec dal Nordselva
  6. Sir Alexandreu Davinescu
  7. C. Carlüs Xheraltescù
  8. Owen Edwards

And the winner, with 23% of the vote:

Sir C. M. Siervicül

Cartoonist of the Year

Brand new this year! The nominees are:

  1. Greg Glodaral
  2. Elo Cutor

And the judges voted 83% in favour of:

Greg Glodaral

Cartoon of the Year

Also in its inaugural year, the nominees are:

  1. Where on Earth is Beneditsch Ardprestéir?” by Greg Glodaral (ETT, 14 Mar 2015)
  2. “Headless,” by Elo Cutor (Beric’ht Talossan #3, 11 May 14)

And with 66% of the vote, our judges chose the award to go to:

Where on Earth is Beneditsch Ardprestéir? by Greg Glodaral (ETT, 14 Mar 2015)

My sincere thanks to the fine journalists of Talossa, the nominators, and to our panel of judges who assisted me in this task: Alexandreu Davinescu, Óïn Ursüm, Lüc da Schir, Txosuè Éiric Rôibeardescù, and C. Carlüs Xheraltescu.

Individual TPA Memberships Available

Until recently, the TPA granted affiliate memberships to publications—individual membership was an informal status assumed to apply to employees of those affiliates.

Today, I’d like to formally announce that the TPA will actively distinguish between affiliates and members. For purposes of our initial list, heads of the various affiliates have been assumed to possess individual memberships.  Should you write for an affiliate, or merely wish an individual membership, please contact me, Sevastáin Pinátsch, to be added to the roster of individuals.

Talossan Journalism Awards Reboot

Once upon a time, in a Kingdom very much like this, the Talossan Press Association encouraged media excellence within the RT by recognizing its very best with three awards: ‘Journalist of the Year’, ‘Best Article of the Year’ and ‘The Saint Maximilian Kolbe Award for Fine Writing’.

After some years in hiatus, TPA Chairman Munditenens Tresplet is proud to announce that the Awards will return this year, recognizing the brilliant and resilient effort of RT journalists published from April 1, 2013 to March 31, 2014.

Judges for this event:

  • Alexandreu Davinescu
  • Magniloqueu Épiqeu da Lhiun
  • Sevastáin Pinátsch
  • Lüc da Schir
  • Adam da Simeon

The nomination process is now well underway and we hope to make announcements by early May.

The TPA Relaunched

Welcome to the new web presence of the Talossan Press Association, hosted by the Talossan Citizens Archive.

As this is a free and independent entity, much like the publications of individual members, we encourage our affiliates to speak openly and honestly about the issues facing our industry and Talossa at large without fear of judgement or censure.

While it is expected that a mutual respect will guide all interactions, frank discussion, constructive criticism and novel suggestions are necessary for meaningful change.